I liked what little I saw today, as usual quite a variety in styles which is really nice. Raph was a little late but he's been busy along with the rest of us. Aaron, he cares more about the quality of his students work than most of the teachers in new media. It could be worse, we could be forced to post over and over to the 'Pool' which Jon and Joline abuse their students just to make it look legitimate. Theres a huge opportunity to do something great here, which in our major is few and far between.
ethans was so ridiculously amazing! I'm looking forward to seeing everyone's finished work. To expand on what Matt said I am so glad we don't have to waste our time with things like the pool just to please our professors.
Class was... unorthodox, but good. I think that after all the rabble and whatever, people actually came up with some good things, and I'm looking forward to seeing them on Tuesday.
Class was bittersweet, some awesome projects and Raph becoming more irritated toward the end. I plan on working pretty much non-stop all weekend in order to crank out something really sweet. Good luck everyone, and Ethan/Sean awesome work thus far.
Class was stressful today. Another inconsistent mood swing but I think all the work I saw was great. Sean's made me laugh so friggin hard and Ethan's looked very professional. I think everyone has done great work this whole semester and don't let Raph scare anyone. He cares way too much about how we do, even if it doesn't seem it. Aaron and Josh, I know you guys were pissed but seriously if he didn't care, you would know. He wouldn't say a thing to us about anything. You can tell when a teacher cares when they scream at you to do your best. That's how I see it. The teachers I've had thus far at UMaine have been subpar but the ones who I have learned from the most were the ones I was most afraid of and at times could not even stand. Raph is one of them. I love to hate him and vise versa.
Anything I post here is just going to repeat what others have already said, but as a response:
Teacher of the year might be late for class, and might shit on students for not doing what they were asked, but I dont know any other professors who are willing to be online to chat with students, bounce ideas around, and help, at 4 in the fucking morning. think what you might want to about raph, but hes here for you more than any other professor in the department, and probably at the university. I get irritated when people give someone shit for being pissed about not getting what they asked for. He was clear about what we wanted today, and some people let him down for one reason or another. ---That doesnt mean they didnt work hard, I know full well that everyone has shit going on, and everyone works their asses off for this class, so please, the people who screwed up today, know that I know you are busting ass, it happens, everyone slips, and it was talked about a little more today than it probably should have been. I just hope neither of you just walk away mad, there IS a lesson here.
In my defense, I'm not entirely angry with raph. I understand he was just trying to push me. The situation could have been handled in a much better situation though, and I'll leave it at that. I obviously misinterpreted what was going on today (and since i'm not the only one, even if i'm the worst offender), and now i have less time to get response and feedback. That is all.
today i learned that teacher of the year consists of ichating with your students instead of showing up for class.
ReplyDeleteJosh don't worry you didn't do anything unrealistic and I'm sure you put a lot of time and effort in your work.
It was cool to see what other people had been working on.
ReplyDeleteThe talk about grades is true to me. Stop doing stuff for grades and start doing it for yourself.
I just wish we could have gotten through all of the pieces today, but i guess i will see them on tuesday
I liked what little I saw today, as usual quite a variety in styles which is really nice. Raph was a little late but he's been busy along with the rest of us. Aaron, he cares more about the quality of his students work than most of the teachers in new media. It could be worse, we could be forced to post over and over to the 'Pool' which Jon and Joline abuse their students just to make it look legitimate. Theres a huge opportunity to do something great here, which in our major is few and far between.
ReplyDeleteethans was so ridiculously amazing! I'm looking forward to seeing everyone's finished work. To expand on what Matt said I am so glad we don't have to waste our time with things like the pool just to please our professors.
ReplyDeleteClass was... unorthodox, but good. I think that after all the rabble and whatever, people actually came up with some good things, and I'm looking forward to seeing them on Tuesday.
ReplyDeleteClass was bittersweet, some awesome projects and Raph becoming more irritated toward the end. I plan on working pretty much non-stop all weekend in order to crank out something really sweet. Good luck everyone, and Ethan/Sean awesome work thus far.
ReplyDeleteClass was stressful today. Another inconsistent mood swing but I think all the work I saw was great. Sean's made me laugh so friggin hard and Ethan's looked very professional. I think everyone has done great work this whole semester and don't let Raph scare anyone. He cares way too much about how we do, even if it doesn't seem it. Aaron and Josh, I know you guys were pissed but seriously if he didn't care, you would know. He wouldn't say a thing to us about anything. You can tell when a teacher cares when they scream at you to do your best. That's how I see it. The teachers I've had thus far at UMaine have been subpar but the ones who I have learned from the most were the ones I was most afraid of and at times could not even stand. Raph is one of them. I love to hate him and vise versa.
ReplyDeleteAnything I post here is just going to repeat what others have already said, but as a response:
ReplyDeleteTeacher of the year might be late for class, and might shit on students for not doing what they were asked, but I dont know any other professors who are willing to be online to chat with students, bounce ideas around, and help, at 4 in the fucking morning. think what you might want to about raph, but hes here for you more than any other professor in the department, and probably at the university. I get irritated when people give someone shit for being pissed about not getting what they asked for. He was clear about what we wanted today, and some people let him down for one reason or another.
---That doesnt mean they didnt work hard, I know full well that everyone has shit going on, and everyone works their asses off for this class, so please, the people who screwed up today, know that I know you are busting ass, it happens, everyone slips, and it was talked about a little more today than it probably should have been. I just hope neither of you just walk away mad, there IS a lesson here.
In my defense, I'm not entirely angry with raph. I understand he was just trying to push me. The situation could have been handled in a much better situation though, and I'll leave it at that. I obviously misinterpreted what was going on today (and since i'm not the only one, even if i'm the worst offender), and now i have less time to get response and feedback. That is all.
ReplyDelete